University of Toronto

Office of the Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life

Senior College Program Archives 2012

2012

Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2012: War Crimes and the Law: The Case of Simeon Petliura 1926 Orest Rudzik (Chair: Suzanne Hidi) podcast-logo

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2012: Believable Change: Understanding and Interpreting the 2012 U.S. Presidential Election Larry LeDuc (Chair: Joe Whitney) (VIDEO) podcast-logo

Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2012: From Commodity to National Emblem: Shifting Stories About the Origins of Croissants, Camembert and Champagne David Clandfield (Chair: John McClelland) (VIDEO) podcast-logo

Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2012: How a Contemporary Canadian Artist Learned to Survive and Thrive in Canada Charles Pachter (Chair: Harold Atwood) (VIDEO) podcast-logo

Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2012: Trudeau Transformed: The Shaping of a Statesman Max and Monique Nemni (Introduction: Peter Russell; Chair: Peter Hajnal)

Part 1 of 2: podcast-logo Part 2 of 2: podcast-logo

Tuesday, Oct. 23, 2012:A Message of Hope: Biological Approaches to Arresting Global Climate Deterioration Rowan Sage (Chair: John Youson)  Click here for video

Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2012: Exploring How Young Children Think  David Olson (Chair: Ruth Pike)

podcast-logo

Tuesday, Oct. 9, 2012: Political Obstacles to Making Trial Courts More EffectiveCarl Baar (Chair: Peter Russell)

podcast-logo

Tuesday, Oct. 2, 2012: The First English Detectives: Policing London Before the Bobbies John Beattie (Chair: Germaine Warkentin)

Tuesday, September 25, 2012: Vitamin D: Gateway to Healthier Longevity John David Stewart (Chair:Harold Atwood)

podcast-logo

June 21, 2012: McMichael / Tagore Exhibit Trip

Wednesday, May 23, 2012, 2pm-4pm (informal lunch in the pub from 12noon-2pm), Faculty Club, Upper Dining Room

Senior College Annual General Meeting

Thursday, April 12, 2012, 9:30-3:30pm SPECIAL ALL DAY EVENT

7th Annual Senior College Symposium: “Toronto: Becoming a World City”

Wednesday, March 21, 2012, 3-5pm

Cicely Watson, Academic Dead Ends: Is Tenure-Track Drying Up? (Chair: Joe Whitney)

  VIDEO

Wednesday, March 14, 2012, 3-5pm

Tom Alloway, Sniffy and its Significance in Research and Education. (Chair: Suzanne Hidi)

(VIDEO with slides)podcast-logo

Wednesday, March 7, 2012, 3-5pm

Ed Barbeau, The Power and Limitations of Mathematics. (Chair: Harold Atwood)podcast-logo

Wednesday, February 29, 2012, 3-5pm

Harry Schachter,“Orphan” (Rare) Genetic Diseases of Children: The Congenital Disorders of Glycosylation.

(Chair: Marian Packham)

(VIDEO with slides)podcast-logo

Wednesday, February 22, 2012, 3-5pm

Charles Godfrey,  Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) – a Confusible Conundrum. (Chair: Cornelia Baines)

podcast-logo

Wednesday, February 8, 2012, 9-5pm SPECIAL ALL DAY EVENT  SOLD OUT

From the Ashes of War, A Nation is Born: An Event to Commemorate the War of 1812

The War of 1812 and the Battle of York.  Special All-Day Event at Fort York National Historic Site.

Tickets $35: UofT Tix Box Office (416) 978-8849 or http://www.uofttix.ca/view.php?id=838

Wednesday, February 1, 2012, 3-5pm

Mladen Vranic, Three Stresses: Fascism, Communism, Immigration (Chair: Harold Atwood)podcast-logo

Wednesday, January 25, 2012, 3-5pm

John Dirks, The World of Prizes: The Glories and the Disappointments (Chair: Suzanne Hidi)podcast-logo

Wednesday, January 18, 2012, 3-5pm

Bill Nelson, “Ideology in Current American Politics  (Chair: Peter Hajnal)podcast-logo

Wednesday, January 11, 2012, 3-5pm

Louis Pauly, “Governing Global Risks: Between Integration and Autonomy in the 21st Century” (Chair: Peter Russell)

podcast-logo