University of Toronto

Office of the Vice-Provost, Faculty & Academic Life

Senior College Symposium 2013

Wednesday, April 10, 2013, 9:30am-3:30pm, The Faculty Club, 41 Willcocks St.

Program for Senior College Symposium: “The Brain and Us”

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 9:30-3:30 Faculty Club 41 Willcocks St.

Co Chairs: Merrijoy Kelner, John Dirks

9:00    Registration

9:30    Opening Remarks

Michael Wilson, Chancellor, University of Toronto

9:45    Talking About the Brain: New Understandings  Dr. Donald Stuss, President & Scientific Director, Ontario Brain Institute

10:15  Explaining Creativity: Mind and Brain Dr. David Goldbloom, Mental Health Commission of Canada


11:00  BREAK

11:15    A Major Challenge: Serious Brain Disease with Aging

Vascular Disease and Stroke  Dr. Sandra Black, Sunnybrook Hospital

Alzheimer’s  Dr. Peter St. George-Hyslop, UofT



1:15    Imaging: Communicating After Serious Brain Injury  Dr. Adrian Owen, Western University

2:00    Mental Health: Depression in our Society  Dr. Sidney Kennedy, Psychiatrist-in-Chief, UHN


3:15    Concluding Remarks John Dirks and Merrijoy Kelner

3:30    Wine and Cheese Reception


Sandra E. Black MD, FRCP(C) is an internationally renowned cognitive and stroke neurologist who holds the inaugural Brill Chair in Neurology, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. Executive Director of the Toronto Dementia Research Alliance, she is a founder of the Heart & Stroke Foundation Centre for Stroke Recovery, and is the Brain Sciences Research Program Director at Sunnybrook Research Institute.

John H. Dirks is President and Scientific Director, The Gairdner Foundation, and Senior Fellow, Massey College; former Dean and Professor Emeritus of Medicine, University of Toronto.

David S. Goldbloom is Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto, and serves as Chair of the Mental Health Commission of Canada.

Merrijoy Kelner is Professor Emeritus, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, Division of Social and Behavioural Health Sciences, and Researcher at the Institute for Life Course and Aging, University of Toronto.

Sidney H. Kennedy is Professor of Psychiatry, University of Toronto, and Psychiatrist-in-Chief at the University Health Network. He is an international leader in Mood and Anxiety Disorders research and education. He leads the Canadian Network for Biomarker Integration in Depression.

Adrian M. Owen, Professor, is currently the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Cognition and Neuroimaging at Western University. His work combines structural and functional neuroimaging with neuropsychological studies of brain-injured patients. His most recent work has shown that functional neuroimaging can reveal conscious awareness in some patients who appear to be entirely vegetative, and can even allow some of these individuals to communicate their thoughts and wishes to the outside world.

Peter H. St. George-Hyslop, Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto, is Director of the Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases. He is a world authority on the genetics of Alzheimer disease.

Donald T. Stuss, Ph.D., C. Psych., ABPP-CN, Order of Ontario, FRSC, FCAHS, is President and Scientific Director of the Ontario Brain Institute; University of Toronto Professor of Medicine (Neurology and Rehabilitation Science) and Psychology; and Senior Scientist (adjunct) at the Rotman Research Institute of Baycrest Centre. His personal research focuses on understanding and treating the cognitive functions and personality changes associated with the frontal lobes as they occur after stroke, normal elderly, and in those with traumatic brain injury or dementia.

Michael H. Wilson The Honourable Michael Wilson is currently Chairman of Barclays Capital Canada Inc. and serves as Chancellor of the University of Toronto and Chair of the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. A mental health advocate, he states: “We have learned more about the brain in the last 15-20 years than in all the years before that. This conference gives us a great opportunity to build on this.”

Senior College Symposium Committee: John Dirks, Co-Chair, Merrijoy Kelner, Co-Chair, Harold Atwood, Cornelia Baines, Suzanne Hidi, Scott Rogers, Peter Russell, Roselyn Stone, Russ Wooldridge.